Opening of the Elbphilharmonie

On 11 January 2017 Thomas Hengelbrock and the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra are appearing at the official ceremony.

On 11 January 2017 the Elbphilharmonie will finally fulfil its mission as Hamburg’s new ultramodern concert hall. As its resident orchestra the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and its principal conductor Thomas Hengelbrock will have the honour of appearing at the first concert in the main hall of this architectural masterpiece and in that way marking the official opening of the Elbphilharmonie.

Sharing the programme are five of the world’s leading singers – Anja Harteros, Wiebke Lehmkuhl, Philippe Jaroussky, Jonas Kaufmann and Bryn Terfel – as well as the organist Iveta Apkalna, NDR Chorus and Bavarian Radio Chorus.

The opening concert on 11 January 2017 was broadcast live on NDR Kultur, NDR Television and as a live stream on ARTE Concert and

The opening concert will be repeated the following evening, 12 January 2017.