Orchestre de Paris

Since 2005 Thomas Hengelbrock has been a regular guest conductor in Paris’s most prestigious concert halls and opera houses, including the Opéra Bastille, the Opéra Garnier, the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, the Paris Philharmonie and the Salle Pleyel, where he has appeared with the Orchestre de l’Opéra national de Paris, the Orchestre de Paris and his own Balthasar Neumann Ensembles.

With the start of the 2016/17 season and his appointment as associate conductor of the Orchestre de Paris Thomas Hengelbrock has found a permanent musical home in Paris. The Orchestre de Paris is the orchestra in residence at the Paris Philharmonie, which opened in January 2015. With its 119 permanent members it is one of the largest and most well-respected of the world’s orchestras. Since January 2015 it has had a permanent home at the Paris Philharmonie, where it gives its concerts in the capital.

The ongoing working relationship between Thomas Hengelbrock and the Orchestre de Paris was officially marked by the conductor’s inaugural concert on 20 October 2016. Thomas Hengelbrock has conducted the Orchestre de Paris on frequent occasions and to great acclaim since 2011.

Together with the orchestra’s new music director, Daniel Harding, Thomas Hengelbrock took over the musical direction of the Orchestre de Paris. This is the first time in its history that the orchestra has had two music directors. Founded in 1967, it can look back on a long line of distinguished music directors who have included Charles Munch, Herbert von Karajan, Sir Georg Solti, Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Christoph von Dohnányi, Christoph Eschenbach and, most recently, Paavo Järvi.

An important role in the repertory of the Orchestre de Paris is played by traditional French music. In concert series and at special concerts it has also devoted itself to the work of composers such as Messiaen, Dutilleux and Boulez, setting particular store by French music of the 20th and 21st centuries. It also does much to promote contemporary music in general and takes part in opera performances, notably at the Théâtre du Châtelet. It performs regularly throughout France and undertakes frequent European tours, while also appearing at international festivals and visiting the United States, where it is a regular visitor to New York’s Carnegie Hall.

ODP_Logo_CMYK

Orchestre de Paris

Bereits seit 2005 ist Thomas Hengelbrock regelmäßiger Gast der renommierten Pariser Konzert- und Opernhäuser wie der Opéra Bastille, Opéra Garnier, dem Théâtre des Champs Elysées, der Philharmonie de Paris und dem Salle Pleyel; sowohl mit dem Orchestre de l´Opéra national de Paris, dem Orchestre de Paris als auch mit seinen Balthasar-Neumann-Ensembles.

Mit der Saison 2016/17 findet Thomas Hengelbrock in Paris nun dauerhaft eine musikalische Heimat: Im Oktober 2016 übernahm er das Amt des „Chef associé“ beim Orchestre de Paris, dem Residenzorchester der im Januar 2015 eröffneten Philharmonie de Paris. Mit seinen 119 permanenten Mitgliedern ist das Orchestre de Paris eines der größten und angesehensten Orchester. Ab Januar 2015 hat es seinen dauerhaften Sitz in der Philharmonie de Paris, wo auch seine Pariser Konzerte stattfinden.

Die kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Thomas Hengelbrock und dem Orchester wurde  feierlich im Antrittskonzert am 20. Oktober 2016 beschlossen. Schon seit 2011 stand Thomas Hengelbrock wiederholt erfolgreich am Pult des Orchestre de Paris.

Gemeinsam mit Daniel Harding, dem neuen „Directeur musical“, übernahm Thomas Hengelbrock damit die musikalische Leitung des Orchesters. Erstmalig in seiner Geschichte wird das Orchestre de Paris nun von einer musikalischen Doppelspitze geleitet. Ehemalige musikalische Leiter des 1967 gegründeten Orchesters waren Dirigenten-Größen wie Charles Munch, Herbert von Karajan, Sir Georg Solti, Daniel Barenboim, Semyon Bychkov, Christoph von Dohnányi, Christoph Eschenbach und zuletzt Paavo Järvi.

Einen wichtigen Platz im Repertoire räumt das Orchestre de Paris der traditionsreichen französischen Musik ein. In Konzertzyklen und Sonderkonzerten widmet es den Werken von Komponisten wie Messiaen, Dutilleux und Boulez besondere Aufmerksamkeit und setzt Schwerpunkte auf die französische Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Daneben beschäftigt es sich intensiv mit der zeitgenössischen Musik und wirkt auch bei Opernaufführungen mit, insbesondere im Théâtre du Châtelet. Es spielt regelmäßig in vielen Städten Frankreichs und Europas, tritt aber auch bei internationalen Festivals und in den Vereinigten Staaten auf, wo es ein ständiger Gast der Carnegie Hall in New York ist.

www.orchestredeparis.com

ODP_Logo_CMYK